Church Resignation

Posted: November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Things have been moving so quickly, I have hardly had time to stop and write about things that are happening.  But this week I will write a few posts to get caught up!

I resigned from my position at my old church a couple of weeks ago.  I actually gave notice til the end of the year but the senior pastor likes to get people out the door quickly.  So…he decided to pay me into January but get me out the door on November 30.  So Wednesday of this week is my last day.

It has been a whirlwind!  My resignation was announced to the congregation a week ago as I stood before 1000 people and told them that I was moving on.  And yesterday was my last Sunday in the church services.  I can’t believe it happened so quickly.  I had to say “goodbye” to people the past two Sundays and I know there are some people who haven’t been around those two weeks and have no idea I am gone.  Crazy!  I had a story down that I was telling everyone as to why I was leaving (all of which was true…it just wasn’t the whole truth).  There were tears shed by some people and I know there are others who are confused as to why I left.  A lot of people said really nice things to me and I was wished well.  I only wonder what those same people will say and think when the truth finally gets around!

There is so much change going on in my life right now that I don’t think I have really processed the emotions of leaving the church.  I love that church…and love many of the people.  My time there was really good.  I will miss seeing those people regularly!

 

 

Comments
  1. Mack says:

    I really want to tell you congratulations. Yes, you will grieve the change, but this is God opening a door for you. I promise that your witness to be faithful to yourself, and to the God who created you, will inspire others.

    O lord, thou hast searched me, and known me.
    Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.
    Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.
    For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether.
    Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me.
    Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.
    Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
    And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

  2. Bill says:

    Bless you on this major transition. Unfortunately, we Christians are terrible at closure. I’m not sure why, but closure is necessary for all parties if they are to move forward in a healthy way. Are you familiar with William Bridge’s book, Transitions? You can buy a copy at any used book store. He has some good stuff on endings. You are having many endings – some profound like core identity, vocational identity (“pastor”), your marriage, etc. And some a bit less significant, but important none-the-less, like some of the relationships at the church that are important to you. It sounds like you are overwhelmed now, but pick up a copy of the book and somewhere along the way in the next few weeks or months, think through some of your endings and ideas for acknowledging them, even if only in your journal. Bringing closure will help you move forward. And with your next job, where issues of “final” closure will surface, having done your own work will give you insight and grace for others. I’ve been logging on to your blog almost daily, and saying prayers for you. Those will continue.

  3. Alex Haiken says:

    Related: See new post — “Is There a Christian Case For Same Sex Marriage?”
    at: http://JewishChristianGay.wordpress.com

    -Alex Haiken

  4. Alex Haiken says:

    In light of your recent transition, I wanted to share a bit about myself. You may have already checked out the link to the post I referenced (and you published) yesterday on: “Is There a Christian Case for Same Sex Marriage?”

    By way of my own background, and as I am quite open about on my own blog, I too did the “ex-gay” route for many years — including several years as an ex-gay ministry leader — before finally realizing that the ex-gay route is a scripturally-unsound mirage. I have long since integrated my rich evangelical faith with my sexuality and now get to live an honest and authentic life before God, before man and before myself. It was like becoming born again, again! The sky was bluer, the grass was greener, and instead of my soul shrivelling up and dying (which it was!), it was mewed.

    I know it can be a rough transition when the people you know and love conclude they can no longer afford your friendship. But I do think you’ll find some of the posts on my site encouraging and I would be happy to chat further should you at any time want or need to speak with someone who has “been there, done that and got the tee shirt”, so to speak.

    In Christ,
    -Alex Haiken
    http://JewishChristianGay.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

