I was asked in a recent comment about how my theology has changed.  What a great question!  I think I can sum it all up by posting a Peanuts cartoon:

I have come to believe that the strongest place I can stand is in saying that “I might be wrong”. 

For most of my life, I have had to be right.  I was trained in the “right” theology.  I was taught the “right” way of thinking.  It was drilled into my head that my theological persuasion was “right” and all of the others were wrong, or at least not quite right.  That is the reason that I ended up in this place in my life!  Being gay was not “right”!

But then I came to realize that there were other theologies out there.  Those theologies used the same Bible that I did to come up with their views.  There were people who used the Bible to prove that being gay was not a sin!  This was so revolutionary for me that I had to open myself up to the idea that I might be wrong…and…they might be wrong!  We ALL might be wrong!  And if that is the case, if there is even the slightest chance that I might be wrong, then that possibility should change the way I think and the way I live.

So now, when I talk about Scripture or theology, I will give my opinions based on my understanding of Scripture.  But I will also admit that I might be wrong.  That one theological option…being open to being wrong…changes everything.  So now I am free to wrestle with Scripture with others and to know that each of us must learn to stand before God and trust that as we read and interpret the Bible, we may be right…but we may be wrong.  So let’s major on the majors and minor on the minors!

I can tell you what I WILL stand on:  loving God with all my heart, soul, and strength, and loving my neighbor as myself.  That is the Jesus Creed…and that is something I know I will never be wrong in if I focus on that!

 

Comments
  1. Mack says:

    I’m one who tends to agree with this viewpoint. God is much broader and more complex than we give Him credit for. Also, most of our values are societal, not Biblical, anyway. We just take our values and read them into the Bible.

  2. Paul says:

    Wow, what a refreshing point of view to have. And maybe I am getting to that place too. But it is hard – especially when you have been raised that there is only one truth, that your great uncle went as a missionary to South America for 40+ years and when you were lived on an island in the south Pacific as a missionary kid for 4 years. Like Mack said, it could just be a societal thing peculiar to the subculture in which I was raised, but who knows?

    If you don’t mind me asking a further question, how did you arrive at the conclusion you could be wrong? Presumably you had been aware of others interpreting the Bible differently than you had for many years, but only recently came to the conclusion that all they might still be wrong, you could be wrong as well.

    And thanks for sharing the Jesus creed of which you are sure you are not wrong about.

  3. Pomo says:

    Did you copy and paste that from my blog? We’re on the same wave length for sure!

  4. toujoursdan says:

    I’ve come to view the Bible as more of a literary work, than primarily historical or doctrinal. It’s an account of people wrestling with God over the millenia, told mostly from their perspective yet inspired by their experiences with God.

    Once I allowed myself to approach the Bible that way, it became easy to respect others who view it differently. Viewing the Bible as primarily literary in nature opens the door to holding multiple interpretations of the various stories and narrations at the same time, viz. everything in scripture becomes a parable. You also spend less time worrying about the mechanics of how things like the Exodus, a Virgin Birth or Resurrection work, or whether an assertion or story will ultimately be proven or disproven by science or archaeology. (Viewing it this way tends to drive my more literal-minded fundamentalist or atheist friends crazy.)

    A Catholic priest-friend of mine captures my belief about it when he said: “Everything in the Bible is true, and some of it actually happened.”

    A good book on the subject, written by someone in your area, is Marcus Borg’s “Reading the Bible Again for the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally”. You may not agree with his theology, but the book will help you realize how bound we are by post-Enlightenment thinking and how it has corrupted Biblical interpretation and driven many people from Christianity.

  5. Benton says:

    Just found your blog! Keep searching my friend, God will lead you!

Leave a Reply

