Church Planting

Posted: April 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Just a quick update. I am planting a church! It seems that there are no positions in affirming denominations locally…and there doesn’t seem to be any money for church planting either. So I’ve decided that I’m just gonna start. I already have several people who have expressed interest so I’m just going to dive in and do it. AND…I’m going to start this on the side while I keep my current pastoral position. So I’m going to be juggling quite a bit over the months to come.

So there you have it…my direction for the future has been set! I will share more in the weeks to come. But for now, you are welcome to follow the blog I have started for the new church. Here is the link: Church For All

More soon!

Comments
  1. Pomo says:

    Theres a gay church in Sacramento by the same name. haha. Kinda ironic since you don’t want your church to be a gay church!

    Hows this gonna work with your current ministry? Will you tell them you’re doing it? What will be your reason for starting it? Do you have a time frame on how long it will take until you fully transition? I imagine without outside financial support it could take years to build a church where you’re taking a full time salary no?

    • pastorchris says:

      That’s actually not the name of the church. That’s just the name of the blog. The church won’t be named until we begin meeting.

      As for your other questions, I really don’t know! I have no intention of telling my current church until things get going a bit more. And a time-frame is hard to guess right now. I am just taking things one step at a time. All I know is that I am supposed to start. The path will become more clear in time!

  2. Paul says:

    Congrats – you really have hit the ground running with coming out to your kids and starting an accepting church. I look forward to hear how it goes since it seems there really are no evangelical accepting churches that I can find. In a way I’m glad it didn’t work out for you with the Disciples of Christ since they seem to be a bit too mainstream Protestant. Keep on posting since you are a great role model for us evangelicals in MOMs.

  3. Mack says:

    Thanks for keeping this blog. You’re spreading an important message that there’s a place for all kinds of people in God’s Kingdom…And, well, life is never as perfect as it seems. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. And, congratulations on the new call.

    • scott says:

      seems to me you have a church in nature why do you need a building?

      • pastorchris says:

        You are right…the church actually started yesterday! We met at a sports bar. We are now looking for a place to meet regularly that will be more conducive to what we are trying to do.

  4. Fred says:

    So are you still updating this blog? How are things going with your family situation?

Leave a Reply

