Coming Out To The Kids

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Well, last week we began telling our kids what is going on.  Two of our three kids now know.

My oldest is in high school and took the news very maturely.  He told me that he understands, he is not mad at me, and he knows that this is just going to be a difficult time for all of us.  I had no idea how he was going to react, so I was glad that he took it as well as he did.

My 2nd born, the one I thought would be totally fine with it all, didn’t have such a great response.  She got quite emotional about the whole thing but within a day seemed to be fine.  She has a hard time with change so I think that is why it was so hard for her.  She’s actually the most liberal of our children, so ultimately, I know she will be the most supportive.  Thankfully, now that she has gotten over the shock, she seems to be doing pretty well.

My third born is not being told yet.  He is too young and we don’t want him to have to deal with too much information yet.  Ultimately, he will be the hardest to deal with in all of this because he is very close to me and already struggles with some anxiety.  I think we will wait to talk to him when we have a better idea about the timing of everything.

So far, coming out to my kids hasn’t been as horrible as I thought it would be.  They are pretty resilient.  And ultimately, since it will be a while before our divorce occurs, I think they will be able to process things better without it being in the middle of too much change.

Thankfully, this step in the process went fairly well!

 

Leave a Reply

