Drinking the Kool Aid

Posted: January 25, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I drank the Kool Aid.

So did you.  But I’ll come back to that later.

There is a person who is very close to me who is not doing well with my recent “revelation”.  God bless him…he means so well.  He really cares about me.  He wants what is best for me.  But he is not dealing well with the truth of who I am.  He is quoting Scripture to me.  He is doing research online for ministries and organizations that help gay people to be come straight.  He is trying to convince me that change is possible!  (((sigh)))

You see, he has drunk the Kool Aid.  He downed a tall drink of conservative theology and that theology tells him that being gay is a sin.  And if being gay is a sin, then it must be something that you can change.  Therefore, change is possible and the person “struggling” with such sin should be able to figure out a way to gain healing.  The problem with that Kool Aid is that it makes everything very black and white and doesn’t allow for any other points of view.  And the Kool Aid that he drank causes him to think that I have drank Kool Aid.  And his Kool Aid thinks my Kool Aid is bad and dangerous.

Yes, I have imbibed some Kool Aid as well.  My Kool Aid is a drink that I always thought was wrong and bad (because I had previously consumed the other Kool Aid).  But now I realize that the issue may not be so black and white.  The new Kool Aid that I recently drank tells me that I CAN be both gay and a Christian.  I’ve bought into the ideology of that Kool Aid…lock, stock, and barrel.

The sad thing is that it is so easy to drink one type of Kool Aid and to declare the other Kool Aid as bad and wrong.  Intolerance is bred by believing that YOUR Kool Aid is THE one and only Kool Aid that is the RIGHT Kool Aid.

It doesn’t matter what you believe in life…you have still drunk some sort of Kool Aid.  For whatever reason, no matter the issue, we have all “drunk the Kool Aid” by subscribing to a particular point of view.  But here is the ultimate question:  can two Kool Aids sit side by side and be tolerant of one another?  Can we trust God in each other enough that we can allow people to hold a view that opposes our view?

Maybe I’m wrong.  Maybe you’re wrong.  Maybe we’re both wrong.

But can we still respect each other, even though we have drunk two different Kool Aids?

Comments
  1. Jon Trouten says:

    PGC: It seems to me that you are evidence of someone who tried for a very long time to overcome your homosexual sexual orientation without success. How many of the things that your friend has suggested you try to become het have you already tried? When is enough enough?

  2. toujoursdan says:

    It took you more than 20 years to accept your sexual orientation; it’s going to take a while for your friends and loved ones to accept it as well.

    They are going through all the stages you have.

    It’s painful. You have, more or less, resolved they. But they are going to explore many of the options you did along the way. The most difficult thing is to be patient and a remain a good witness for your new identity.

    It’s a grieving process. They are grieving what they thought you were. Many of your friends are in the “denial” stage. They may go through the other stages: anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It’s easy for me to tell you to give it time while you feel hostility and abuse, but that’s what you have to do.

  3. Keith says:

    So first off, I should say that I randomly found this on google. I wasn’t even trying to find something like this.
    I am an 18 year old who is in the closet. I have no idea what I should really do about it. I dream of having a tradition family some day, that’s the the number one thing I want in life. I’ve also thought about becoming a pastor. I have searched help from a friend my own age and he has been encouraging me to continue to find a way to have basically non-sexual desires. It’s hard when your from my generation because most people think that it’s good to be gay. I want to have a counselor of some sort, but all the people who I know that are actively gay say that a counselor suggested coming out, which I don’t know is the most Christian way to handle this. I’ve also read a book called “stepping out of homosexuality” that my pastor let me borrow.

    Sometimes I wonder if maybe living that kind of lifestyle, (though I will still believe that sex is sex, and that is still in the way of what is right). I don’t really know why I’m commenting on this. I guess I’m looking for some kind of guidance to make sure that “yes trying to find away out of the gay mindset is right.” or if maybe I should be more open it and look for homo-relationships

    Basically, at the end, I want to say thank you for posting this, even though we have no idea who eachother are. If my feelings towards this are right, I’m going to wait for a hetero-relationship until I find a way to conquer this. Once I do, I really want to use the testimony in ministry, assuming there will be other people that are teenagers that would say they struggle with this. Thanks!

  4. Wow, Keith, I hope you are well and that you have realized the truth about the goodness of gay relationships. I wish I was 18 again and could do it all again. Don’t screw up your life and someone else’s, Keith. Live into the truth of who you are.

Leave a Reply

