The Door is Closing

Posted: November 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

The door is closing.  But as opposed to the picture above, I am not standing on the inside.  I’m standing on the outside and the door is closing behind me.

Behind that door is a lot of hiding.
Behind that door is an old way of believing.
Behind that door is a lot of acting.
Behind that door is my old way of life.
Behind that door is bondage.

The thing about watching that door close behind me is that I know that the door is locked. I can’t open it again. One it shuts, I can’t go back. I can’t go back to that way of thinking, or acting, or hiding.

Actually, the door is just barely cracked open right now. It will shut soon. I can’t go back. I know too much. I can’t go back to the bondage that lies behind that door.

I have spent many years in the room behind the door. I just can’t live in that room anymore.

The scary thing is that I don’t know what’s ahead. I know that I am breathing fresh air. I know that I feel the warmth of the sun. It’s just scary to begin to walk away from what I have always known. Like Aslan the lion is described in The Chronicles of Narnia, I know that the future may not be safe, but it is good.

So as the door is closing, I am scared…but ready to embrace the future.

Comments
  1. your friend says:

    There’s also cake on the other side of the door 😉

    I’m happy for you, hermano.

  2. Davo says:

    Pulling this one for my quote book – “I know that the future may not be safe, but it is good.” It can be difficult to believe at times, but this statement is so very true on so many different levels!

  3. Love it. I always say “I can’t un-see the things I’ve seen. I can’t un-believe the things I believe.”

Leave a Reply

