The Journey Begins

Posted: September 6, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Hello world!

How’s that for a start?

So…what to write next?  I don’t even know where to begin.  I don’t even know what to say.  I mean, seriously…I’m telling the world that I am a conservative-evangelical pastor…who is becoming more liberal…who is married and has kids…and who is gay.  That’s not the sort of thing that you write on a blog everyday.

But it’s time.  It’s time for me to be honest.  It’s time for me to stop denying what has always been true.  It’s time for me to reconcile what has been going on inside of me for years.  It’s time for me to do the hard work.

And let me tell you…this is the most difficult “work” I have ever done.  This work involves intense counseling.  And it has the potential to affect EVERYTHING that I know in life:  my marriage, my ministry, my parenting, my friendships, my sexuality, my faith…everything that is important to me.

This journey began in June of 2010 and will probably continue for quite a while.  Life-change doesn’t come easy or quickly.  And I don’t want to rush anything…there is way too much at stake on all sides for me to rush through this.

I was challenged by a friend to blog about the journey as a way to help me “process” everything.  So you get to come on my journey with me.  Now aren’t you lucky?  I welcome the interaction…I think it will help me to work through everything.

Thanks for reading…and thanks for being with me on this journey.  I have no idea where the journey will lead…but I am open to walking with God into whatever future He has waiting ahead for me!

Comments
  1. Dawn says:

    To realize this takes courage and to take steps to not hide takes more courage. You may not see it, but you are doing a good thing. Even though we are told to be humble and think of others all the time, there is a season for everything… this is a season for you.

  2. Pomo says:

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I couldn’t figure out where to comment here! I completely understand where you’re coming from (minus the wife and kids). I hope you post more. Its therapeutic!

  3. toujoursdan says:

    Holding you and your loved ones in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. TJ says:

    Pastor, I stumbled upon your site by accident … or divine intervention. I’m at a huge crossroads in my life. It’s more like a tornado has pulverized my life and I’m trying to pick up the pieces. In doing so, I’ve decided to stop lying, hiding and pretending. I’m 47, and I’m gay. I’m preparing to take of my mask. I’m terrified. My circle is extremely conservative. But what I’ve realized through this tornado that I’ve mentioned is that having people “love” you is not all that great if they don’t ‘know” you. In fact, they don’t love you, but the person you’re pretending to be. I’ll be reading your posts from the beginning very closely over the next few weeks. Maybe I can share more if you’re interested. Thank you for this blog. From what I’ve skimmed through, we’ve shared some similar experiences … and you’ve hit on some topics that could have come right out of my diary. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

